Europe 40 Under 40®: Call For Submissions

The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies and The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design have launched the new edition of the Europe 40 Under 40 Awards, an annual awards program that celebrates the next new talented generation of European architects and industrial designers.

The program is directed to support new and emerging professionals that will influence the near future of European architectural design, thinking, and theory with the direct consequence of impacting future environments, culture, daily life and future European and international cities.

The key is to bring wider recognition to 40 of the most promising emerging architects and industrial designers working in the European Union and other countries inside Europe, fostering and encouraging new talent and creative thinking at the forefront of tomorrow’s profession.

Architects and industrial designers up to 40 years old (as of December 31, 2019) are invited to submit projects to be judged by a committee of distinguished architectural practitioners, developers, architectural and design journalists, educators, and critics.

Participants either working as individual practitioners or collaborating inside an established firm as the principal lead designer/architect of the projects submitted, can only apply as individuals, no firms allowed.

Information for Architects

Eligible projects (built or not) may include corporate architecture, skyscrapers, institutional projects, religious buildings, civic and political structures, planning projects, urban renewal, restoration/renovation, residential architecture for single family and multi-family dwellings, stores, residential or commercial interiors, sports and transportation centers, and public environments.

This is an individual program where only professionals’ architects, landscape architects, urban planners can apply.

Information for Industrial Designers

Eligible products (manufactured or concept) may include electronics, medical equipment, furniture, equipment, hardware, tools, kitchen and bath utilities, floorcovering, tabletop, household products, personal effects, appliances, office products, transportation, children’s products, sports and recreation, lighting and public environments.

This is an individual program where only design professionals can apply.

The deadline for the 2019 program is December 1, 2019.

The jury will select the individual industrial designers and architects based on submitted work and the potential of their impact on the future of the professions.

The results of Europe 40 Under 40 Awards will be announced in early 2020 and will be presented as an exhibition that will open in Athens, at the European Centre during the summer of the same year.

All award-winning architects and designers will be included in the edition entitled Next New Talented Generation of European Architects & Designers by Metropolitan Arts Press Ltd.

More information on the submission requirements of the Europe 40 Under 40 Awards are available at .

Applications are available online at

For further information, please contact: Mrs. Konstadina Geladaki at

Facebook: 40under40 European Design Award
Instagram: 40under40europeandesign


About Διονυσία Γιώργη

View all posts by Διονυσία Γιώργη →

Leave a Reply